Banana Cupcake Recipe

So TGBBO Week 5: Free From, quite a challenge as I have never really experimented with substitute ingredients before, but my first thought when watching was ‘why is nobody using banana’ so I thought this is what I would do. I have made

Free From Sugar Banana Cupcakes with Nutella Frosting

Free From Sugar Banana Cupcakes with Nutella Frosting

and here is how:

Ingredients

  • 150g of Sugar
  • 4tbsp of Honey
  • 1tsp of Baking Powder
  • 1/2tsp of Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 150g of Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Banana
  • 2tbsp of Nutella

Picture

Method

  1. Start by preheating the oven to 180C (fan) and putting your cupcakes cases into the tin
  2. Then mix the sugar and the honey together
  3. Sieve in the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda in to the mixture and combine thoroughly
  4. Add the eggs and mix until your cake batter is smooth
  5. Finally mash your banana and stir in
  6. The pour evenly into your cupcake cases
  7. Bake in the oven for 14-15 minutes (I found that the cakes went a little darker than normal)
  8. Allow to cool
  9. Once cool you can prepare the frosting by combining the remaining butter and nutella
  10. Whisk until smooth and use a palette knife or icing bag to decorate your cupcakes
  11. Then enjoy!

Note: This recipe makes 12 cupcakes

They actually came out really well and I feel like I proved to myself that I am actually a good baker and can experiment without completely screwing things up, they tasted pretty much similar to normal banana cupcakes with a honey aroma so I take  TGBBO Week 5: Free From as a success!

Do you have any ‘free from’ recipes, if so, please share them below!

So next weeks task is Pastry probably the one I am dreading most, wish me luck…

Leave a comment